Each year in December we like to share our top Albums Of The Year.  The list is informed by what the Netsounds team have been listening to most in the year.  It is a celebration of the past twelve months but also championing the future and there is plenty to celebrate.

In a year of head spinning change and uncertainty this year’s list includes albums that take on fury, love and loss, blood and family, immigration, and mental health.  It’s a vibrant and diverse collection of glorious tender harmonies, shimmering  jangly indie pop and evocative innovative sounds.

The best from a tumultuous year.

Adam Stafford – Fire Behind the Curtain (Song, by Toad)
Aidan Moffat/RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body (Rock Action)
Bodega – Endless Scroll (What’s Your Rupture?)
Boy Azooga – 1,2, Kung Fu! (Heavenly)
brownbear – What Is Home? (brownbear)
Broken Records – What We Might Know (J Sharp Records)
Carla J Easton – Impossible Stuff (Olive Grove Records)
Car Seat Headrest – Twin Fantasy ( Matador Records)
Colin Macleod – Bloodlines (Country Punk Records)
Courtney Barnett – Tell Me How You Really Feel (Milk!)
CS Buchan – CS Buchan & Friends (Fitlike Records)
Death Cab For Cutie – Thank You For Today (Atlantic)
Django Django – Marble Skies (Because)
Fatherson – Sum of All Your Parts (Easy Life)
Field Music – Open Here (Memphis Industries)
Finiflex – Suilven (Finiflex Records)
First Aid Kit – Ruins (Columbia Records)
IDLES – Joy as an Act of Resistance (Partisan Records)
Jon Hopkins – Singularity (Domino)
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is (Rock Action)
Lorkin O’Reilly – Heaven Depends (Team Love Records)
Low – Double Negative (Sub Pop)
Natalie Prass –The Future and the Past (ATO Records)
Nieves – Exist and Expire (Nieves)
Okkervil River – In The Rainbow Rain (ATO Records)
Parquet Courts – Wide Awake (Rough Trade)
Primal Scream – Give Out But Don’t Give Up: The Original Memphis Recordings (Sony Music)
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever – Hope Downs (Sub Pop)
S. Carey – Hundred Acres (Jagjaguwar)
Shame – Songs Of Praise (Dead Oceans)
Solareye – All These People Are Me (A Modern Way)
Spare Snare – Sounds (Chute)
Sunflower Bean – Twentytwo In Blue (Mom + Pop Music)
The Lost Brothers – Halfway Towards A Healing (Bird Dog Recordings)
The Spook School – Could It Be Different (Slumberland)
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Sex & Food (Jagjaguwar)
Villagers – The Art Of Pretending To Swim (Domino Recording Company)
wojtek the bear – a talent for being unreasonable (Scottish Fiction Records)
Wooden Shjips – V. (Thrill Jockey)
Young Fathers – Cocoa Sugar (Ninja Tune)

These are some of our favourites from 2018, if you agree or want to share your own let us know through our Twitter or Facebook pages.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and if you’ve discovered some new music don’t forget to share it with your friends.

Discover New Music…

For more live sessions subscribe  to our channel on YouTube and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram for news on the great new music we love.

Keep up to date with what we are listening to by following our Spotify New Music Playlist which we update every month.