Netsounds new music recommendations.

A monthly eclectic list of new music suggestions for you from across team Netsounds.

You can also check out our Spotify New Music Playlist which is updated and refreshed regularly.

Man of Moon – Rust

Despondent lyrics are propelled along with steely dark guitars and drums on the latest offering from one of Scotland’s new wave of creative and compelling acts.  The hypno-rock pulsating track is the bands first new music since 2019’s incredible Chemicals EP and their most assured track to date.

Rust is available now on all streaming platforms.

ALKANES – Make It Right

Alt-Rock duo ALKANES have released their brand new emotional and hard hitting single Make It Right.

Make It Right was written following the passing of front-man, Dale Sutherland’s, father and explores the journey they had taken to improve their relationship. The artwork is an early photograph of both father and son.

Produced by Iain McLaughlin (IMOUT Studios), the single is the third release in the last year from ALKANES and comes as a follow up to the raw and energetic Death or Glory, which was released at the tail end of 2019.

Mitchell Museum – Freak Break

Freakbeak is the latest art-pop gem from Glasgow trio Mitchell Museum.   Imagine The Flaming Lips and Talking Heads jamming in your garage.  It’s a glorious noise.

‘Freakbreak’ is the lead single to be taken from the experimental pop band’s third album Skinny Tricks which is due for release on 15th May via Scottish Fiction.  The video is accompanied by a trippy video (see below).

Speaking of the album’s origins, frontman Cammy Macfarlane explains, Skinny Tricks features my friends and family as cut up, reversed samples from loads of WhatsApp or Facebook videos and the like.  I kind of warped a lot of spoken audio to turn everyone into a collective instrument; we’ve got nephews as synth chords, and mums as percussive loops all over the album.  The original idea was to do with the fact that we are all constantly documenting our lives via social media apps and I wanted to somehow emulate that constant chatter throughout the album.”

Freakbeak will be released digitally on all platforms on 29th February 2020 and on 10″ vinyl via Scottish Fiction.

Catholic Action – Another Name For Loneliness

Catholic Action have released brand-new single lifted from their forthcoming new album Celebrated by Strangers.  ‘Another Name For Loneliness’ is a pounding and joyful yet melancholic track.

On forthcoming album Celebrated by Strangers, Catholic Action find themselves searching for meaning, defining identity, attacking power, pointing fingers and demanding accountability. McCrory adds; “I’m in it to make records that are interesting and matter. We’ve made a record that embraces the negatives – both from a musical and social/political standpoint – sees the humour in them and ultimately turns them into something positive; be that a better outlook, or progressive political action.”

Before the album arrives the band have a string of live dates across the UK in March in support of Kid Kapichi.  The band are also appearing at this year’s SXSW.

Human Barbie – Be Careful What You Wish For

I stumbled across Human Barbie while I got lost in an hour long hole in Bandcamp, as you do.  Los Angeles band, Human Barbie was formed in 2018 by singer-songwriter Christopher Leopold and ‘Be Careful What You Wish For’ is the 2nd single from their forthcoming LP Get A Life.

‘Be Careful What You Wish For’ is a blissful and beautifully crafted psychedelic indie-pop song.  The opening line, “Be careful what you wish for cause you’re gonna get fucked eventually” sets the tone of the song – don’t always chase what appears bigger and better.

Yani Martinelli – Astral/All The Way Beyond

Yani Martinelli is a musician and singer-songwriter based in Barcelona who I recently discovered through our friends at Fox Food Records.  She’s been in involved in a number of indie acts over the years and she has also released a number of DIY albums in her own name.

Her latest bedroom-folk-pop album is called Astral and has been released via Fox Food Records.  ‘Astral/All The Way Beyond’ is the dreamy lead track from the album.  Yani Martinelli also teaches drums and loves cats.

Hilary Woods – Orange Tree

Hilary Woods is an Irish musician and visual artist from the Northside of Dublin.  Her latest album Birthmarks is set for release on March 13th via Sacred Bones.  The second single to be taken from the album is the bewitching gothic-folk ‘Orange Tree’.  It is accompanied by a moody video conceived by Woods.

Ghost GRL – Living Room

GHOST GRL is the recording moniker of Gianna Botticelli, a Boston-based songwriter who started writing songs at the age of 14.

‘Living Room’ is the highlight from her new EP, Rewired which is out nowIts a brooding a dark folk number with haunting vocals that showcases brilliantly the power of her voice and guitar.


The Big Net – Big Moon

The eleventh instalment in Saddle Creek’s Document Series comes from New York based The Big Net with the country folk tinged track,Big Moon (b/w Rufus)’

The Big Net is the musical project of Kevin Copeland (guitar, vocals) Andrew Emge (drums) and Logan Miley (bass).

‘Big Moon’ was written during a particularly lonely period in Copeland’s life, he would sing so that he could fall asleep and from that process the song seemed to “float in all at once.” “Sometimes all you have is yourself, and the moon, or a guitar, or a bed, or the ground under your feet, and that’s ok. Those things will always hold you,” Kevin says of the song.

Pre-order ‘Big Moon b/w Rufus’ out 28th February 2020 on Saddle Creek.

Savage Mansion – Karaoke

Glasgow’s Savage Mansion return with a brand new track, ‘Karaoke.  Savage Mansion is led by songsmith and guitarist Craig Angus who we have featured previously in another super band called Poor Things.

‘Karaoke’ is taken from the Glasgow indie-rockers forthcoming second album Weird Country (3 April via Lost Map).  Savage Mansion will be joining Pictish Trail on their upcoming UK tour (March/April 2020).

A Choir Of Ghosts – Sinner In Rapture

A Choir Of Ghosts  releases the third single ‘Sinner in Rapture’ from his upcoming debut album An Ounce Of Gold. Frontman James Auger is to be found in the deep Scandinavian forest, fingerpicking the guitar to folksy melancholic tunes to long for, his biggest musical influences lays in the reminiscence of Kurt Cobain, The Tallest Man on Earth and Hollow Coves.

‘Sinner In Rapture’ is about the way all young people are set up to fail with the way society is built and how I didn’t want to be part of that capitalist machine.  This song is the end of the world, the end of everything we know.” – James Auger


Discover more new music…

Keep up to date with what we are listening to: follow our regularly updated  Spotify New Music Playlist .

For live sessions subscribe to our YouTube  channel and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.