Some of our favourite albums over the past year have made the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award Longlist with a total of twenty albums in the running for Album of The Year.

Albums from Meursault, Frightened Rabbit, Fatherson, Honeblood and Modern Studies were included in the list announced at ‘Live at the Longlist’  at the O₂ ABC in Glasgow on Wednesday 24th May.  This new ticketed event to reveal the longlist saw music fans gather to enjoy live sets from Steve Mason, Admiral Fallow and Mungo’s Hi Fi.  Respected journalist and broadcaster Nicola Meighan announced The SAY Award Longlist for 2017, with all twenty albums showcasing the extraordinary strength and diversity of Scotland’s musical output.

Now in its sixth year, The SAY Award is Scotland’s most popular and prestigious music prize, boasting a lucrative £20,000 prize for the winner and nine runners-up prizes of £1,000 each.

Chosen from almost 300 eligible albums, the 20 strong Longlist was narrowed down by 100 impartial industry ‘Nominators’.  The Longlist will be whittled down to a shortlist of 10  – one chosen by the public via a 72-hour online vote (12-14 June) and the other 9 chosen by an independent panel of judges.

You can listen to and learn more about each album on The SAY Award Longlist by visiting where there will be two featured albums every day from Monday 29th May.

The SAY Award 2017 Longlist is as follows (in alphabetical order):

Adam Holmes and The Embers C Duncan

Ela Orleans


Frightened Rabbit


The Jesus and Mary Chain

King Creosote



Modern Studies


Pictish Trail

Rachel Newton

RM Hubbert

Sacred Paws


Teenage Fanclub



Brighter StillThe Midnight Sun

Circles of Upper and Lower Hell

Open Book

Painting of a Panic Attack

Babes Never Die

Damage and Joy

Astronaut Meets Appleman


I Will Kill Again

Swell To Great


Future Echoes

Here’s My Heart Come Take It

Telling The Trees

Strike A Match



Say It All With A Kiss


 For more information about the SAY Award visit

Fatherson (Ross Leighton acoustic) in session for Netsounds: