Netsounds music recommendations for June 2020.

A monthly eclectic round up of new music suggestions for you from across team Netsounds.

You can also check out our Spotify New Music Playlist which is updated and refreshed regularly.

Also check out our playlist, “Songs Will Not Be Cancelled” – a community playlist where we are asking people to share some of our favourite tracks new and old.

Carla J Easton – Get Lost

This is Carla J Easton wrapped up in wonderful futuristic, cosmic production.  It’s a lush 2 minutes and 42 seconds which is so instantly catchy you will want to press repeat again and again.  Available now via Olive Grove Records.

Keir Gibson – Circles

All of Keir’s singles to date have combined glorious pop melodies and memorable hooks – made for radio production with an authenticity that has the potential to win over large crowds chanting the chorus back to him.  ‘Circles’ is one of those tracks that is so incredibly easy to come back to time after time.

Circles’ is produced by London duo The Nocturns, mixed by Matty Green (Dua Lipa, Dermot Kennedy) and mastered by Grammy-winning engineer Joe La Porta.

Tamzene – accidentally told you (demo)

Scottish artist wrote and recorded ‘accidentally told you’ at home in Cromarty during the COVID-19 lockdown.  The stripped back emotive demo has echoes of an almost crackling  jazz infused 78.  The sparseness of this timeless sounding track makes it perfect for any anxiety busting, chill-out coronavirus playlist.

Jared Celosse – Faded Leaves

The latest release from Glasgow based singer songwriter is a wash with sheer class.  It’s a beautifully dreamy track with haunting and captivating vocals that you’d expect from someone way beyond his youthful years.  Genuinely one of Scotland’s most overlooked artists.

Land of Talk – Weight of That Weekend

Canadian indie pop songwriter and Broken Social Scene affiliate Elizabeth Powell returns with her Land of Talk project.

‘Weight of That Weekend’ is taken from their forthcoming LP, Indistinct Conversations due to be released on 31st July 2020 via Saddle CreekIndistinct Conversations follows 2017’s acclaimed Life After Youth.

Check Masses – Lost In The City

Lost in the City” is the third single from Edinburgh’s, Check Masses.  The track also features on the band’s debut album Nightlife, out now via Triassic Tusk Records.  Frontman ‘Philly’ Angelo Collins describes the track as “a late night tale of wild happenings imagined by subterranean New Yorkers”.

On the album band members, Philly, Vic Galloway and Saleem Andrew McGroarty trawl through the nightlife of their home city, tangled in “relationships, temptation, paranoia and the fall-out from them all”. However, on “Lost in the City” we’re transported to the cinematic ideal of a mythical early-hours Manhattan as Philly skulks at the “corner of 53rd Street”, finding a companion to hit the “dirty little club that’s always open”, as a last chance saloon.

The Van T’s – Seeing Stars

Scottish alt-rock outfit The Van T’s return to form with their blistering new single ‘Seeing Stars’.

The soaring fuzz-laden riff-driven track is a precursor to their upcoming EP and the quartet’s first release with Glasgow-based 7 West Music.

Speaking on ‘Seeing Stars’ inception, Hannah Van Thompson explains: “So, I wrote ‘Seeing Stars’ off the back of an ongoing battle with mental health issues. After a year-long slump I started off with the lyrics ‘I want to believe in something inside me.  I wanted the song to be punchy and bright, it sort of reflects the way I want to progress in getting better. I hope those who have the same issues can relate to this song.”

“Seeing stars again” is a slight nod to being out of that dark place and overcoming demons.  These are trying times and I know the band are excited to get playing this live again.”

Calum Jones – Happy Now

Scottish musician, Calum Jones is not hanging about in 2020.  ‘Happy Now’ is the Moray based musicians sixth release of the year so far.  It’s a further departure from his Celtic folk roots straying more into Foo Fighter or even John Mayer territory.  ‘Happy Now’ is a power pop track that packs a punch.

The Son (s) – Silver Fingers

Nine years on since their self-titled debut with Olive Grove Records, and we still know little about Edinburgh based, The Son (s).

What we know is this: they make beautiful folk rhythms, their records have wonderful on-point production and they have a new release born out of the Coronavirus lockdown.

‘Silver Tongues’ is a cosmic, charming and soothing.  It’s end of the day listening, on an old turntable,  possibly with a large dram in hand.  Discover more here.

Happy Spendy – Fresh Air

Glasgow based 5-piece, Happy Spendy releases their brand-new compilation album You’re Doing Okay on 5th June via Lost Map Records.

To announce the album, they released a new video for the lo-fi synth pop track ‘Fresh Air’.  Clocking in at 1 minute and 25 seconds its almost too brief.  But, good news there are 13 more tracks on the album to enjoy.

Pure Grief – Electric Gold

Scottish rock trio, Pure Grief released new single, ‘Electric Gold’.  Hailing from Caithness in the far North of Scotland, Pure Grief are set to release their labour-of-love debut album, Loyal To No One, Local To Nowhere on 10th July.

Peter Bacon from the band said: “We are immensely proud of what we have achieved with this album.  This collection of songs is the culmination of over three years hard work… Completely independent. No Managers. No PR. No secret conglomerate of bankers funding our operations.”

Vistas – You and Me

Edinburgh indie-pop 3-piece released their eagerly anticipated debut album, Everything Changes In The End at the end of May.  ‘You and Me’ is the latest summery-indie-synth track taken from the album.  It’s a hook laden album with slick production and a string of sing along choruses.


Discover more new music…

Keep up to date with what we are listening to: follow our regularly updated  Spotify New Music Playlist .

For live sessions subscribe to our YouTube  channel and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.